Listen to this post

We recently published an update to our 50-state Shelter-In-Place / Reopening Tracker.

Baker McKenzie has a team in place that has been advising clients real-time on these most critical issues since the first orders were enacted. We are pleased to provide this Tracker, which identifies the relevant state-wide shelter-in-place orders and their related expiration dates, as well as the applicable state-wide reopening plans, in each of the 50 United States plus Washington, D.C. The “What’s Open” table on each page highlights the reopening status of four major sectors (office, manufacturing, retail and bars/restaurants).

In addition, the Tracker includes links to the relevant quarantine requirements or recommendations for incoming travelers in each state plus Washington, D.C.

Please see HERE. This is updated weekly.

For your convenience, here is a summary of the major updates from around the country:

  • The Governors of Alabama, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Wyoming extended their emergency declaration orders and/or the duration of the current phase of their reopening plans.
  • California issued a new reopening plan, the Blueprint for a Safer Economy, that becomes effective August 31, 2020. Each county in California is assigned to one of four tiers, each with different reopening guidelines, based on its rate of new cases and positivity. Data is reviewed weekly and tiers are updated on Tuesdays. Similarly, the Arizona Department of Health Services now requires county-specific public health benchmarks to be met in order for certain businesses to reopen.
  • The Governor of Michigan issued a new order entitled “Protecting workers who stay home, stay safe when they or their close contacts are sick” that replaces an earlier order of the same title, which prohibits employers from discharging, disciplining or retaliating against employees who stay home. The new order is intended to clarify when a worker has the principle symptoms of COVID-19 so that workers who have a known medical or physical condition causing their symptoms need not stay home.
  • The Governors of Connecticut, New Jersey and New York modified their tri-state COVID-19 travel quarantine list by deleting five states (Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Maryland and Montana). This is the first time in eight weeks that a state or territory has not been added to the list. The tri-state list currently includes 31 states and territories.
  • The Governor of Hawaii issued a new order requiring individuals on Oʻahu to stay at home and work from home for two weeks. Exceptions include certain essential activities, and work that provides essential business and government services or essential public infrastructure construction, including housing.

For more information, please contact your Baker McKenzie attorney.