Listen to this post

We recently published an update to our 50-state Shelter-In-Place / Reopening Tracker.

Please see HERE. This is updated weekly.

For your convenience, here is a summary of the major updates from around the country:

  • The Governors of Colorado, Louisiana, South Carolina, Vermont and Washington, as well as the Mayor of Washington, D.C., extended their emergency declaration orders and/or the duration of the current phase of their reopening plans.
  • Connecticut and Maine moved to the next phase of their respective reopening plans.
  • The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services issued an executive order that largely mirrors the orders previously issued by Governor Gretchen Whitmer, which were struck down by the Michigan Supreme Court earlier this month. The new order remains in effect until October 30, 2020.
  • The Governor of Texas issued a new order that allows bars and similar establishments to open at 50% capacity if the County Judge opts in, and that allows for increased capacity at certain entertainment venues in counties with low hospitalization rates. The Governor of Washington announced updates to the state’s reopening plan that allows for more activities in some of the phases. The Governor of Wisconsin, on the other hand, issued an order that limits the size of indoor gatherings in certain places that are open to the public.
  • The Governor of New York announced a “Cluster Action Initiative,” which targets clusters of high community transmission of COVID-19 for additional restrictions on non-essential gatherings, houses of worship, businesses, dining, and schools.
  • The Governors of Connecticut, New Jersey and New York modified their tri-state COVID-19 travel quarantine list to add New Mexico. The tri-state list currently includes 35 states and territories.

For more information, please contact your Baker McKenzie attorney.