To help multi-state employers determine the minimum amount they must pay non-exempt employees, our chart below summarizes state and local increases this year. (Unless otherwise indicated, the following increases are effective January 1, 2019.)

This chart is intended to discuss rate changes that affect employers generally, and may not necessarily cover all industry-specific rate changes.

Jurisdiction Rate Comment
Federal $7.25 No change
Alabama $7.25 No change
Alaska $9.89
Arizona $11.00
Arizona (local ordinances) Flagstaff: $12.00
Arkansas $9.25
California
  • Employers with 26 employees or more: $12.00
  • Employers with 25 or fewer employees: $11.00
California (local ordinances) Alameda:

  • Employers with 26 employees or more: $12.00
  • Employers with 25 or fewer employees: $11.00
  • $13.50 (effective July 1, 2019)

Belmont: $13.50

Berkeley: $15.00 (Increase based on consumer price index effective July 1, 2019)

Cupertino: $15.00

El Cerrito: $15.00

Emeryville:

  • 55 employees or more: $15.69 (Increase to $16.00 effective July 1, 2019, though the rate may change based on consumer price index)
  • 54 employees or fewer: $15.00 (Increase to $16.00 effective July 1, 2019, though the rate may change based on consumer price index)

Los Altos: $15.00

Los Angeles (city and county):

  • 26 or more employees: $13.25 (Increase to $14.25 effective July 1, 2019)
  • 25 or fewer employees: $12.00 (Increase to $13.25 effective July 1, 2019)

Malibu:

  • 26 or more employees: $13.25 (Increase to $14.25 effective July 1, 2019)
  • 25 or fewer employees: $12.00 (Increase to $13.25 effective July 1, 2019)

Milpitas: $13.50 (Increase to $15.00 effective July 1, 2019)

Mountain View: $15.65

Oakland: $13.80

Palo Alto: $15.00

Pasadena:

  • 25 or fewer employees: $12.00 (Increase to $13.25 effective July 1, 2019)
  • 6 or more employees: $13.25 (Increase to $14.25 effective July 1, 2019)

Redwood City: $13.50

Richmond:

  • With Benefits: $15.00
  • Without Benefits: $13.50 (If an employer pays at least $1.50 per hour per employee towards an employee medical benefits plan, which allows the employee to receive employer-compensated care from a licensed physician, the employer can pay employees $1.50 per hour less than the minimum wage. Richmond, CA Code § 7.108.040.)

San Diego: $12.00

San Francisco: $15.00 (Increase based on consumer price index effective July 1, 2019)

San Jose: $15.00

San Leandro: $13.00 (Increase to $14.00 effective July 1, 2019)

San Mateo:

  • General industry employers: $15.00
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofit employers: $13.50

Santa Clara: $15.00

Santa Monica:

  • Employers with 26 or more employees: $13.25 (Increase to $14.25 effective July 1, 2019)
  • Employees with 25 or fewer employees: $12.00 (Increase to $13.25 effective July 1, 2019)

Sunnyvale: $15.65

Colorado $11.10
Connecticut $10.10 No change
Delaware $8.75 (Increase to $9.25 effective October 1, 2019)
District of Columbia $13.25 (Increase to $14.00 effective July 1, 2019)
Florida $8.46
Georgia
  • Employers covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act: $7.25
  • Employers not-covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act: $5.15
No change
Hawaii $10.10 No change
Idaho $7.25 No change
Illinois $8.25 No change
Illinois (local ordinances)
  • Chicago: $12.00 (Increase to $13.00 effective July 1, 2019)
  • Cook County: $11.00 (Increase to $12.00 effective July 1, 2019)
Indiana $7.25 No change
Iowa $7.25 No change
Kansas $7.25 No change
Kentucky $7.25 No change
Louisiana $7.25 No change
Maine $11.00
Maryland $10.10 No change
Maryland Montgomery County:

  • Employers with 51 or more employees: $12.25 (Increase to $13.00 effective July 1, 2019)
  • Employees with 50 or fewer employees: $12.00 (Increase to $12.50 effective July 1, 2019)

Prince George’s County: $11.50 (No change)

Massachusetts $12.00
Michigan $9.25 (Increase to $9.45 effective approximately March 29, 2019)
Minnesota
  • ·Annual gross revenue of $500,000 or more: $9.86
  • Annual gross revenue of less than $500,00: $8.04
Minneapolis:

  • 101 or more employees: $11.25 (Increase to $12.25 effective July 1, 2019)
  • 100 or fewer employees: $10.25 (Increase to $11.00 effective July 1, 2019)
Mississippi $7.25 No change
Missouri $8.60
Montana $8.50
Nebraska $9.00 No change
Nevada
  • $8.25 (No Health Benefits) (Increase to be announced effective July 1, 2019)
  • $7.25 (Health Benefits Offered) (Increase to be announced effective July 1, 2019)
New Hampshire $7.25 No change
New Jersey $8.85
New Mexico $7.50 No change
New Mexico (local ordinances) Albuquerque:

  • $9.20 (Without Benefits)
  • $8.20 (With Benefits)

Bernalillo County:

  • $9.05 (Without Benefits)
  • $8.05 (With Benefits)

Las Cruces: $10.10

Santa Fe: $11.40 (Annual indexing increase effective March 1, 2019)

New York Effective December 31, 2018:

  • $15.00 (New York City employers of 11 or more employees)
  • $13.50 (New York City employers of 10 or fewer employees) (Increase to $15.00 effective December 31, 2019)
  • $15.00 (fast food worker in New York City)
  • $12.75 (fast food worker outside New York City) (Increase to $13.75 effective December 31, 2019)
  • $12.00 (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester Counties) (Increase to $13.00 effective December 31, 2019)
  • $11.10 (remainder of New York) (Increase to $11.80 effective December 31, 2019)
North Carolina $7.25 No change
North Dakota $7.25 No change
Ohio
  • $8.55 (annual gross receipts of more than $314,000 per year)
  • $7.25 (annual gross receipts of $314,000 or less per year)
Oklahoma $7.25 No change
Oregon
  • General: $10.75 (Increase to $11.25 effective July 1, 2019)
  • Portland Metro: $12.00 (Increase to $12.50 on July 1, 2019)
  • Non-urban Counties: $10.50 (Increasing to $11.00 on July 1, 2019)
Pennsylvania $7.25 No change
Rhode Island $10.50
South Carolina $7.25 No change
South Dakota $9.10
Tennessee $7.25 No change
Texas $7.25 No change
Utah $7.25 No change
Vermont $10.78
Virginia $7.25 No change
Washington $12.00
Washington (local ordinances)

City of SeaTac: $16.09 (for hospitality and transportation industry employees)

Seattle:

  • $16.00 (employers with 501 or more employees)
  • $12.00 (employers with 500 or fewer employees if the employer contributes at least an additional $3.00 per hour toward an employee’s medical benefits and/or reported tips)
  • $15.00 (employers of 500 or fewer employees if the employer does not contribute the additional $3.00 per hour)

Tacoma: $12.35

West Virginia $8.75 No change
Wisconsin $7.25 No change
Wyoming $7.25 No change